Note to self: If you test connection settings by changing things, change them back before you forget you were experimenting days later. Like, for instance, "what does "can send me their channel stream and posts" do? what happens if I uncheck that?"
Protip: Unchecking that means you don't see that connection's posts to their own channels, only what they post to forums you're both in, or comments they make on other people's posts.
Which, you know, good to know! Just... bad to have forgotten. Hello, chattier stream!